18: My Life In Music 

img_8840-1

Radio Genius, Zane Lowe recently said, “People that have moved us and inspired us and given us such amazing art, and such amazing thought and belief, put faith in us, as people because they put faith in their own music. And we’ve learned from that music.” Lowe was saluting the late great PhifeDawg, who recently passed at the age of 45. Lowe’s statement is true. We, as humans put faith in music and give a song meaning. Music helps you through highs and lows. It will never go away.

Music has transformed my life. My heart beats when I hear a certain song on the radio or when a song soundtracks a specific moment in time. As an emotional human being, today is a special day. I am no longer considered a “kid.” I’m a “legal” adult today. Music has soundtracked my entire life, so here is some music that is special.

Survivor by Destiny’s Child

Destiny’s Child was the first group who got the words “Girl Power” through my head. The trio’s in your face pop music was something unforgettable. I never really thought about until I was older but “Bootylicious” and “Independent Women” made me feel so badass. I realized that being a girl was cool.

Riot! by Paramore

The first time I heard of Paramore, I was in the 5th grade at a friend’s house, and my friend’s cousin showed me the “Misery Business” music video. The first thought that came to my head was, “Woah, this is so loud. Woah the lead singer is a girl” I was impressed that Hayley Williams was the lead in a band filled with boys. I learned what alternative music meant that day. I immediately bought Riot! a week later on itunes and was jamming with my purple 4th generation iPod nano. My favorites off that record are, “Hallelujah” and “Born For This.”

Amor Prohibido by Selena

Being Mexican-American there was always a buzz feeling when Selena was on. I always heard her sweet voice on the radio waves. Her grace transcended in her music. I genuinely felt at home whenever she was on. She was taken from us so soon. My all time favorite song by Selena is “Como La Flor”, but off this album, “El Chico Del Apartamento 512” and “Si Una Vez” were true jams.

Graduation by Kanye West

First Hip-Hop/Rap record in my household. My brother had a Kanye phase for a while but Graduation is the album that impacted me. The album cover the famous bear made me happy because the bear was cute and pimped out. I remember hearing “Homecoming” with Chris Martin and immediately thinking when I go off to college I will have a homecoming. This album really made me want to graduate and prove to everyone that I can do anything. I wanted tell the doubters to suck it. “The Glory” and “I Wonder” are the best songs off the album.

Up All Night by One Direction

I couldn’t leave this gem out. Yes, I had a boyband phase. Yes, it’s still going strong. Yes I think I’m madly in love with Harry Styles. Yes, I still love Zayn Malik. This album was my source of happiness throughout my 8th grade year. Because of this band, I learned the definition of “fangirl” and “internet” friends. I was brought to Tumblr and learned what memes were. I love this album because I could point out specific times where I truly felt at ease. I danced to this record. I cried to this record. It introduced me to the huge U.K. music scene. I still cry to “Moments,” (good job Ed Sheeran) and I go all out during “I Want.”

Stereo Typical by Rizzle Kicks

Because of a boyband I found this duo so thanks 1D. I don’t listen to rap music as much but when I do I some how always come back to this album. The debut album by Rizzle Kicks showcases a variety of influence from reggae to garage. I think that’s what I liked about this album the most. I always listen to “Traveller’s Chat” when I’m running out and about in the big world. When it’s rainy I move to the tune of “Even On a Rainy Day.”

The 1975 by The 1975

This album really brought live music to life. The hard hitting beats mixed in with a bit of rock n’ roll. A thoughtful meaning  hidden in each song. Shoutout to you, Nina Nesbitt for your cover of “Chocolate.” This album was introduced to me right in the middle of my transition  of being teenager. It really got me through freshman year. It’s catchy and groovy on so many levels. “Heart Out” and “Pressure” are the two best, if I can pick since it changes a whole lot.

Supermodel by Foster The People

I didn’t know what I was doing with my life during sophomore year. I truly didn’t know anything, until this album was released days before my birthday that year. A mix of influences transformed Foster The People and they delivered a mind-blowing record. When I turned 16 I started to realize that I was closer to adulthood, so “Coming of Age” made sense for me. Also the song “Fire Escape” still makes me emotional till this day.

My Love Is Cool by Wolf Alice

This album came out barely released last year but it already is special. Gritty alt-rock that express teenage angst. Plus a female front gives a this album a special tone. The album is cinematically loud which you can head bang to. “Bros” is a song dedicated to the friendship of my best friend and I. While “The Wonderwhy” fits my confused feelings, as I embark on a new chapter in my life.

Honorable Mentions:

A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out by Panic! At The Disco

My World by Justin Bieber

Viva La Vida by Coldplay

by Ed Sheeran

Modern Vampires Of The City by Vampire Weekend

Communion by Years & Years

I Love You by The Neighbourhood

A Little Bit Longer by Jonas Brothers

Sigh No More by Mumford & Sons

Phase by Jack Garratt

-y

Leave a Reply

